Friday, May 5, 2017

MAC News - Albright Football Disend ('38) Elected to MAC Hall of Fame

A file photo
ANNVILLE, Pa. ­­– Former Albright three-sport athlete Leo Disend has been selected for induction into the Middle Atlantic Conference Hall of Fame, announced by the conference on Tuesday.

This year's class, the sixth overall class, has 19 inductees from current and former member institutions.

"We are delighted to announce the 2017 MAC Hall of Fame," said Executive Director Ken Andrews. "This is an exceptional group that represents the best of the Middle Atlantic Conference. It is an honor to recognize there contributors to the MAC legacy."

Born on November 7, 1915, in Elizabethtown, New Jersey, Disend was a three-sport student-athlete who participated in football, basketball, and track and field before graduating in 1938. However, he was largely known for his success on the football field. He was named a Little All-American twice during his playing years at Albright, and went on to play three seasons in the National Football League—one of only five Albright student-athletes to do so. He played tackle for the Brooklyn Dodgers and Green Bay Packers, playing in a total of 27 NFL games. After his playing career, Disend went on to teach and coach at the high school level in football, track and field, and bowling for 37 years. He also refereed professional and semi-professional football and basketball for 30 years. He was inducted into the Albright Athletics Hall of Fame in 1990 for his success in football and track and field, and is a member of the MAC All-Century Team.

Disend is one of 19 individuals that will be inducted into the MAC Hall of Fame. The 2017 class also includes Royce Ever (Lycoming), Aftan Fisher (Messiah), Don Johnson (Lebanon Valley), Iry Johnson (Scranton), Adam Knoblauch (Delaware Valley), Ned McGinley (King's), Brian O'Keefe (Fairleigh Dickinson-Florham), Heidi Wolfsberger Peoples (Moravian), Emilie Heck Petrone (Haverford), Joanne Polakoski (King's), Kevin Quinn (Saint Joseph), Harold R. "Tubby" Raymond (Delaware), Christina Scherwin (Moravian), Deborah Smuda Williams (Widener), Randy Sturm (DeSales), John Wagner (Rider), James Ward (Gettysburg) and Hayden Woodworth (Messiah).

Middle Atlantic Conference Hall of Fame Class of 2017
Leo Disend, Albright College – Football, Track & Field
Royce Eyer, Lycoming College – Wrestling
Aftan Fisher, Messiah College – Field Hockey
Don Johnson, Lebanon Valley College – Basketball
Irv Johnson, University of Scranton – Basketball
Adam Knoblauch, Delaware Valley University – Football
Ned McGinley, King's College – Wrestling Coach
Brian O'Keefe, Fairleigh Dickinson University-Florham Campus – Lacrosse
Heidi Wolfsberger Peoples, Moravian College – Cross Country, Track & Field
Emilie Heck Petrone, Haverford College – Field Hockey, Lacrosse
Joanne Polakoski, King's College – Basketball
Kevin Quinn, Saint Joseph's University – Cross Country and Track & Field Coach
Harold R. "Tubby" Raymond, University of Delaware – Football and Baseball Coach
Christina Scherwin, Moravian College – Track & Field
Deborah Smuda Williams, Widener University – Track & Field
Randy Sturm, DeSales University – Soccer
John Wagner, Rider University – Soccer, Baseball
James Ward, Gettysburg College –Baseball, Basketball, Football
Hayden Woodworth, Messiah College – Soccer