Thursday, September 24, 2015

Umpleby named a semifinalist for the William V. Campbell Trophy

#8 Sr WR Ryan Umpleby wide open at the Stevenson Game
WILLIAMSPORT, Pa. - Lycoming College senior wide receiver Ryan Umpleby (Forest Hill, Md./Fallston) was announced as a candidate for the National Football Foundation's National Scholar-Athlete Awards, presented by Fidelity Investments, and making him one of 135 semifinalists for the 2015 William V. Campbell Trophy, which recognizes an individual as the best football scholar-athlete in the nation.

On the field, Umpleby continues to rise in the school's career receiving record books. The Forest Hill, Md., native needs five more receiving yards to move past James O'Malley (1984-87, 1,810) and into the top five Lycoming's career record book and two more receptions to move past Rich Kessler (1983-86, 127) for fourth in school history. He is also three touchdowns away from the top five in receiving touchdowns.

He is just 20 yards shy of the top five in kick return yards, where Dave Nolan (1978-82) sits with 759. With 2,827 all-purpose yards, he is just 20 yards from the top 10 in school history, where Troy Erdman (1987-90) finished his career.

Umpleby has posted back-to-back 1,000-all-purpose yard seasons and he earned First Team All-MAC and Third Team All-East Region honors after posting 66 catches for 1,022 yards and 10 touchdowns as a junior.

Also an outstanding student, the business marketing major is a two-time member of the Academic All-MAC team and the MAC Academic Honor Roll. He has also served as a mentor with Trinity Church, volunteered during the Williamsport St. Patrick’s Day Parade and volunteered for Favors Forward with the football team in each of the last three years.

Nominated by their schools, candidates for the awards must be a senior or graduate student in their final year of eligibility, have a GPA of at least 3.2 on a 4.0 scale, have outstanding football ability as a first team player or significant contributor, and have demonstrated strong leadership and citizenship. The class is selected each year by the NFF Awards Committee, which is comprised of a nationally recognized group of media, College Football Hall of Famers and athletics administrators.

The NFF Awards Committee will select up to 15 recipients for the Scholar-Athlete award, and the results will be announced Thursday, Oct. 29. Each recipient will receive an $18,000 postgraduate scholarship, and they will vie as finalists for the 2013 William V. Campbell Trophy. Each member of the 2015 National Scholar-Athlete Class will also travel to New York City to be honored on Dec. 8 during the 58th NFF Annual Awards Dinner at the Waldorf-Astoria. One member of the class will also be announced at the event as the winner of the Campbell Trophy.

The Warriors get back into action on Saturday, Sept. 26, when they host Albright College at 1 p.m. at David Person Field.