Wednesday, May 21, 2014

Lycoming Football: Retired Coach Robb Curry Presents Soccers Nate Gibboney named Robert Darrow Curry Coach of the Year

Former Assistant Athletic Director Robb Curry presents Nate Gibboney
with the Robert Darrow Curry Coach of the Year Award in 2014.
WILLIAMSPORT, Pa. - Lycoming College men's soccer head coach Nate Gibboney received the sixth annual Robb Darrow Curry Coach of the Year award, presented Saturday, May 17, by longtime college administrator and assistant football coach Robb Curry '69 at Lycoming's 29th annual Athletics Hall of Fame induction ceremony.

Gibboney guided the Warriors through one of the most successful seasons in the men's soccer program's 57-year history, capping the year with the program's first-ever conference title and NCAA Division III Tournament appearance.

Gibboney became the first rookie coach in program history to record a 10-win season, posting an 11-8-4 debut. With a renewed focus on defense, the Warriors allowed just 0.91 goals per game, the fifth-lowest in school history, and the team tied the school record with 10 shutouts during the season.

Included in the stingy defensive stats was a school-record stretch of 548 shutout minutes that helped the Warriors capture the first Commonwealth Conference title in program history, as the team defeated eventual national champion, Messiah, 5-4, in penalty kicks after a 0-0 double overtime tie in the conference semifinals. In the championship game, the Warriors defeated Elizabethtown, 5-3, in penalty kicks after another scoreless game.

The team then advanced to the NCAA Tournament, where it added one more shutout, a 1-0 victory over King's (Pa.). In all, the Warriors won five games in a row during a two-week stretch where all five could have ended the team's season.

Accolades rolled in for the team after the season, as freshman Bill Kerr (Bowie, Md./DeMatha Catholic) became the first Warrior since 2004 to earn conference rookie of the year honors and the first since 2008 to earn NSCAA All-Region honors. Junior goalkeeper Connor Keenan (Exton, Pa./Downingtown East) was named the Commonwealth Conference Tournament MVP.

The team also excelled academically, with five players earning NSCAA Honorable Mention Scholar All-East Region honors and three more earning slots on the MAC Academic All-Conference team. In addition, senior Justin Walker (Stroudsburg, Pa./Moravian Academy) became the first student-athlete in school history to earn an NCAA Postgraduate Scholarship.

The award, given annually to a member of the Lycoming coaching staff, was established in memory of Robert (Robby) D. Curry '05, who was the son of Robert '69 and Susan Curry. Robb was Lycoming's football recruiting coordinator and associate athletic director for 36 years, and Susan was an educator in the Williamsport area for more than 33 years. Robby was also the brother of Jessica Curry '01.

Robby earned a bachelor's degree in business administration from Lycoming and was a brother of Lambda Chi Alpha fraternity. Lycoming football was a way of life for him. As a youngster, Robby was a student manager/water boy for the Warriors. In high school, he served on the "chain crew" at home games. There was never a question in his mind about attending Lycoming and playing football for the Warriors. Robby achieved that goal as a freshman. During his final three years at Lycoming, Robby was the program's head videographer at all games.

The fund was created as a monetary award to be given annually. All head coaches, full-time and part-time, are eligible for consideration for this award. Based on performance during the academic year, criteria include a winning record, both overall and in the conference, and whether the coach achieved the recruiting and roster goals for the year.

If you would like to support the Robb Curry Jr. Coach of the Year fund, please contact Lycoming's development office at (570) 321-4036.

All-Time Robb Curry Jr. Coach of the Year winners
2008-09 – Mike Clark, Football
2009-10 – Guy Rancourt, Men's Basketball
2010-11 – Roger Crebs, Wrestling
2011-12 – Mike Clark, Football
2012-13 – Jerry Hammaker, Swimming
2013-14 – Nate Gibboney, Men's Soccer